The CELI are divided into 6 levels modelled on the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR). There are three exam sessions over the course of the year: in March (only for the CELI Impact, CELI 1, CELI 2 and CELI 3), June and November.

The Common European Framework classifies knowledge of the Italian language as follows:
CELI Impact – A1
CELI 1 – A2
CELI 2 – B1
CELI 3 – B2
(recognized by the Ministry of Education,  Universities and Research as a valid certificate to certify the level of Italian necessary for foreign students to enrol at Universities in Italy)
CELI 4 – C1
CELI 5 – C2
(CELI 4 and CELI 5 are recognized as valid certificates to certify a level of Italian equal to that of Italian students. Naturally, Faculties may still require you to sit a specific entrance test).

The CELI immigrants (certificates for people who have immigrated to Italy) and the relative language certificates are specifically aimed at foreigners who have immigrated to Italy, and refer particularly, especially as regards the CELI Impact i, to those who have had limited schooling. For more information, please see: CELI i.

The CELI adolescents (CELI a) are certificates of proficiency in the Italian language aimed at teenagers aged 13 to 17. They certify the student’s ability to use the Italian language to communicate at school and in the workplace. For more information, please see: CELI a.

The CELI 5 DOC, devised and created by the CVCL in collaboration with the Ministry of Education, Universities and Research, is an exam designed to test the Italian proficiency of foreign graduates and professionals, qualified to teach in their own country, who intend to add their names to the list of candidates allowed to teach at Italian schools. For more information, please see: CELI 5 DOC.

Click here to read the CELI regulations.